The Hydraulic Institute (HI), the largest association of pump manufacturers and suppliers to the pump industry in North America, and the global authority on pumps and pumping systems, installed new leadership during the 2023 Annual Conference in Tucson, Arizona. 

Brian Sweeney, president of Crane Pumps and Systems, transitioned from board president into the chairman role. Scott King, president and chief executive officer of Gorman-Rupp, was appointed as the board president.

John Donatiello, senior vice president strategy and business development at Hydro, Inc., assumed the role of treasurer and Charles Pope, president and general manager for Patterson Pump Company, transitioned into the role of secretary. Each officer serves a one-year term that ends in February 2024. 

In addition to the officers, four new members joined the HI board.  David Flinton, senior vice president, chief innovation, technology, and product management officer of Xylem; Troy Pickering, chief executive officer for Simflo; and Albert Pouria, chief executive officer of Sun Star Electric, began three-year terms which will end in 2026.  Mike Mancuso, vice-president of marketing and technology for Flowserve Corp., began a two-year term, which will end in 2025. 

Outgoing Chairman DeLancey Davis, chief executive officer for Headwater Companies, will continue to serve as an ex-officio member of board.

The HI board is primarily responsible for providing organizational oversight to the Institute and guiding the direction of its strategic plan.